What is the speed limit around a construction zone?

Construction Zone Speed Limit Federal guidelines exist and the average speed in a work zone is between 45 mph and 55 mph. This is to give drivers and workers enough time to react to dangerous situations. There are often signs indicating reduced speed zones ahead of construction zones as well.

What is the speed limit if not posted in Texas?

Across Texas, the default speed limit for neighborhood streets is 30 mph. Without signage, that speed limit is recognized under the Texas Transportation Code as the “prima facie” — or understood — speed limit.

How much is speeding in a construction zone in Texas?

Speeding in a construction zone with workers present carries the steepest fines, with a base fine of $102.10, an additional $16 per mile over the speed limit, and a $72.10 court cost.

How much should you slow down in a construction zone?

So what is the law? Federal guidelines recommend a speed of between 45 and 55 miles per hour around highway construction zones. Reducing the speed is supposed to give drivers more time to adjust to unforeseen circumstances, which usually means putting on the brakes.

What is the most common collision in a work zone?

Rear-end crashes
Rear-end crashes (running into the rear of a slowing or stopping vehicle) are the most common type of work zone crash. Fatal work zone crashes occur most often in summer and fall. The majority of fatal work zone crashes occurred on roads with speed limits greater than 50 mph.

Can you go 5 over the speed limit in Texas?

Ticketing is also up to the discretion of the trooper, but as long as you are driving safely, going a few mph over the limit is considered legal. If you are pulled over for exceeding the limit by five mph on an empty highway under a clear blue sky, chances are good the ticket can be fought in court.

How many work zones are there in Texas?

In recognition of National Work Zone Awareness Week, April 26-30, 2021, TxDOT reminds motorists to make driving safely a priority when passing through the state’s more than 3,400 active work zones.

What is the speed limit in Texas with flashing blue lights?

It requires drivers to move over a lane or reduce their speed to 20 mph below the posted speed limit when approaching a TxDOT vehicle, emergency vehicle, tow truck or utility vehicle stopped with flashing blue or amber lights on the roadside or shoulder. Violation of this law can result in a fine of up to $2,000. Billboard – Eyes Up!

What is TxDOT doing about driving in work zones?

TxDOT continues to work on increased safety measures and public outreach efforts to educate motorists about driving in work zones. We encourage everyone, from engineers and planners to drivers and pedestrians, to take responsibility for work zone safety. As part of this outreach, we remind drivers of the state’s Move Over/Slow Down law.

What are some tips for driving through work zones?

Please keep the following tips in mind when driving through work zones: Slow down, follow the posted work zone speed limit and drive to conditions. Traffic fines double in work zones when workers are present and can cost up to $2,000.