What are the 10 steps of BFHI?

Give newborn infants no food or drink other than breast milk, unless medically indicated. Practice rooming in: Allow mothers and infants to remain together 24 hours a day. Encourage breastfeeding on demand. Give no artificial teat or pacifiers (also called “dummies” or “soothers”) to breastfeeding infants.

How many steps are outlined in the BFHI?

WHO and UNICEF launched the Baby-friendly Hospital Initiative (BFHI) to help motivate facilities providing maternity and newborn services worldwide to implement the Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding.

What are the components of BFHI?


  • Maternity facilities.
  • Baby-friendly communities.
  • BFHI and Prevention of Mother-to-Child Transmission. (PMTCT) of HIV/AIDS.
  • Mother Friendly Care.
  • Baby-friendly neonatal units.
  • Baby-friendly complementary feeding.
  • Baby-friendly physician’s office.
  • What are the steps of breastfeeding?

    Get baby to open mouth Touch your baby’s lower lip with your nipple to get your baby’s mouth to open. Wait until your baby opens up really wide, like a big yawn. Bring the baby quickly to your breast—not your breast to the baby. Guide your breast into your baby’s mouth.

    What is the first step among the ten steps for successful breastfeeding?

    Table 1WHO/UNICEF 10 Steps to Successful Breastfeeding

    • Have a written breastfeeding policy that is routinely communicated to all health care staff.
    • Train all health care staff in skills necessary to implement this policy.
    • Inform all pregnant women about the benefits and management of breastfeeding.

    What is the main purpose of BFHI?

    The Baby-friendly Hospital Initiative is a global effort to implement practices that protect, promote and support breastfeeding. It aims to ensure that all maternity facilities become centres of breastfeeding support.

    What is Bfhi in pediatrics?

    The Baby Friendly Hospital Initiative (BFHI), also known as Baby Friendly Initiative (BFI), is a worldwide programme of the World Health Organization (WHO) and the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), launched in 1992 in India following the adoption of the Innocenti Declaration on breastfeeding promotion in 1990.

    Which instruction is not included in the Ten Steps to Successful breastfeeding for hospitals?

    Which instruction is not included in the “Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding for Hospitals”? Give artificial teats or pacifiers as necessary.

    What is the purpose of BFHI?

    What is the implementation guidance for the BFHI?

    The implementation guidance for BFHI emphasizes strategies to scale up to universal coverage and ensure sustainability over time. The guidance focuses on integrating the programme more fully in the health-care system, to ensure that all facilities in a country implement the Ten Steps.

    What are the benefits of BFHI accreditation?

    Maintaining BFHI accreditation, with reassessment every 3 years, ensures regular independent review, and provides facilities with a framework to continuously improve. It ensures that mothers themselves are heard when it comes to their experience of their care. It draws attention to areas of excellence and can improve staff morale.

    What has happened to the BFHI programme?

    In 2015, WHO and UNICEF began a process to re-evaluate and reinvigorate the BFHI programme. A WHO guideline Protecting, promoting and supporting breastfeeding in facilities providing maternity and newborn services was published in 2017, based on a careful examination of evidence for each of the Ten Steps.

    Why should facilities be Baby Friendly accredited?

    Why Facilities Should be Baby Friendly Accredited The role of the Baby Friendly Health Initiative (BFHI) is to protect, promote and support breastfeeding. It does this by providing a framework for Baby Friendly facilities to operate within.