What party is in power in Canada 2012?

41st Canadian Parliament

41st Parliament of Canada
Hon. Thomas Mulcair March 24, 2012 – November 4, 2015
Party caucuses
Government Conservative Party
Opposition New Democratic Party

Who was prime minister in 2014 Canada?

Stephen Harper

The Right Honourable Stephen Harper PC CC
Governor General Michaëlle Jean David Johnston
Preceded by Paul Martin
Succeeded by Justin Trudeau
Chair of the International Democrat Union

What is the federal government name Canada?

The government of Canada (French: gouvernement du Canada) is the body responsible for the federal administration of Canada….Government of Canada.

Formation 1 July 1867
Founding document Constitution Act, 1867
Country Canada
Website canada.ca

Who leads the federal government in Canada?

the Prime Minister
following three parts: the Monarch, the Senate and the House of Commons. Canada is a constitutional monarchy, which means that we recognize the Queen or King as the Head of State, while the Prime Minister is the Head of Government.

How many federal parties are there in Canada?

Represented parties

Name Founded Leader
Liberal Party of Canada Parti libéral du Canada 1867 Justin Trudeau
Conservative Party of Canada Parti conservateur du Canada 2003 Candice Bergen (interim)
Bloc Québécois 1991 Yves-François Blanchet
New Democratic Party Nouveau Parti démocratique 1961 Jagmeet Singh

When was Trudeau elected as prime minister?

On October 19, 2015, after the longest official campaign in over a century, Trudeau led the Liberals to a decisive victory in the federal election. The Liberals won 184 of the 338 seats, with 39.5% of the popular vote, for a strong majority government; a gain of 150 seats compared to the 2011 federal election.

Who was prime minister in 2015 Canada?

The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada. Justin Trudeau (born December 25, 1971) is Canada’s 23rd Prime Minister.

Who was prime minister in 1982 Canada?

Joseph Philippe Pierre Yves Elliott Trudeau PC CC CH QC FRSC (/ˈtruːdoʊ, truːˈdoʊ/ TROO-doh, troo-DOH, French: [pjɛʁ tʁydo]; October 18, 1919 – September 28, 2000), also referred to by his initials PET, was a Canadian politician who served as the 15th prime minister of Canada (1968–1979, 1980–1984) and leader of the …

Who is part of the federal government?

The Federal Government is composed of three distinct branches: legislative, executive, and judicial, whose powers are vested by the U.S. Constitution in the Congress, the President, and the Federal courts, respectively.

What is the role of the federal government in Canada?

The federal government creates laws and manages programs and services that tend to affect the whole country, the provincial and territorial governments have powers to make decisions relating to areas of law that affect their province or territory directly, and the municipal governments are responsible for establishing …

What type of government does Canada have?

The government of Canada (French: gouvernement du Canada) is the body responsible for the federal administration of Canada. A constitutional monarchy, the Crown is the corporation sole, assuming distinct roles: the executive, as the Crown-in-Council; the legislature, as the Crown-in-Parliament; and the courts, as the Crown-on-the-Bench.

Who is the head of government in Canada?

Justin Trudeau is prime minister, Canada’s head of government. One of the main duties of the Crown is to ensure that a democratic government is always in place, which includes the appointment of a prime minister, who heads the Cabinet and directs the activities of the government.

What is the Canadian Ministry (government)?

The Canadian Ministry (download the list in PDF) is commonly referred to as Cabinet. It is the body of ministerial advisors that sets the federal government’s policies and priorities for the country. Sorting Options Order of precedenceLast Name Order AscendingDescending Apply The Right Honourable Justin Trudeau Prime Minister of Canada

When did the Canadian government come into being?

The Act of Union 1840 merged the Canadas into a united Province of Canada and responsible government was established for all provinces of British North America east of Lake Superior by 1855.