Who won the Nobel Peace Prize 2012?

the European Union
On 10 December 2012, the European Union was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in recognition of over 60 years of peace, reconciliation and democracy. But what does the award mean for today’s generations? The Dutch historian Luuk van Middelaar explains.

Who got Nobel Prize in 2011?

Announcement of the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkol Karman, presented by Thorbjørn Jagland, Chairman of the Norwegian Nobel Committee, on 7 October 2011.

Who has been awarded Nobel Prize 2012 for literature?

Mo Yan
The Nobel Prize in Literature 2012 was awarded to Mo Yan “who with hallucinatory realism merges folk tales, history and the contemporary.”

Did Obama get a Nobel peace award?

The 2009 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to United States President Barack Obama for his “extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples”. Obama accepted the prize in Oslo on December 10, 2009.

Who won the Nobel Prize twice for physics?

John Bardeen
John Bardeen is the only laureate who has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics twice, in 1956 and 1972. This means that a total of 218 individuals have received the Nobel Prize in Physics.

Who Got the World Food prize?

World Food Prize laureates

Year Laureate(s) Country
2018 Lawrence Haddad United Kingdom South Africa
David Nabarro United Kingdom United Nations
2019 Simon N. Groot Netherlands
2020 Rattan Lal India United States

Who is the first Nobel Prize winner in India?

Rabindranath Tagore
Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian citizen to be awarded and also first Asian to be awarded in 1913. Mother Teresa is the only woman among the list of recipients.

Who are all the Nobel Prize winners?

Its list of winners includes Martin Luther King, Jr., Elihu Root , Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson , Henri la Fontaine , Mikhail Gorbachev , Aung San Suu Kyi , Nelson Mandela, Kofi Annan , Jimmy Carter, Wangari Maathai, Barack Obama and Liu Xiaobo. There is often a lot of controversy about the award of the prize.

Where is the Nobel Prize located?

Nobel Prize. The prize ceremonies take place annually in Stockholm, Sweden (with the exception of the Peace Prize ceremony, which is held in Oslo , Norway). Each recipient (known as a ” laureate “) receives a gold medal, a diploma, and a sum of money that has been decided by the Nobel Foundation.

Who are the Nobel Prize winners in economics?

French economist Jean Tirole has won the Nobel Prize in economics for his work on market power and regulation. The prize, officially called the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel , was set up in 1968.

What is the origin of the Nobel Prize?

Nobel prize(n.) Prizes for the encouragement of men and women who work for the interests of humanity, established by the will of Alfred B. Nobel (1833-1896), the Swedish inventor of dynamite, who left his entire estate for this purpose.