What are the pillars of CHARACTER COUNTS?

CHARACTER COUNTS! uses its Six Pillars of Character: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, and citizenship as a foundational strategy while using the TEAM approach and incorporating other character education best-practices.

What does pillar of Character mean?

The Six Pillars of Character® are the core ethical values of CHARACTER COUNTS! The Six Pillars of Character are: Trustworthiness, Respect, Responsibility, Fairness, Caring and Citizenship.

What are the 6 pillars of CHARACTER COUNTS?

The Six Pillars of Character are trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, and citizenship. We recommend using the Pillars in your character education or SEL initiative in this specific order and using the acronym “T.R.R.F.C.C.” (terrific).

What are the 7 pillars of Character?

honor and are guided by the Seven Pillars of Character: Caring, Courage, Citizenship, Respect, Responsibility, Honesty, and Fairness.

What is the most important pillar of character?

“Caring is the most important of the six pillars of character because a caring attitude will most likely inspire you and others to also be respectful, fair, and trustworthy.”

How do you define someone’s character?

The character of a person or place consists of all the qualities they have that make them distinct from other people or places. For example, if you say that someone is a strange character, you mean they are strange. It’s that kind of courage and determination that makes him such a remarkable character.

What are Josephson’s 6 pillars of character?

In 1992, Michael Josephson brought together a group of educators to create the Six Pillars of Character—core ethical values for youth to learn and adapt. The six pillars are trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring and citizenship.

Why are the 6 pillars of character important?

The Six Pillars of Character support pupils learning of the widely accepted core ethical values, helping them understand the importance in everything they do and how they treat each other. They provide an easy to understand common language and form part of the dialogue pupils use daily.

Which of the 6 pillars of character is the most complicated?

Trustworthiness: This pillar is the most complex of the six core ethical values and concerns a variety of qualities like honesty, integrity, reliability and loyalty.

What is the difference between ethics and character?

Ethics are defined as moral principles that govern a person’s behavior, while character refers to the mental and moral qualities distinctive to an individual. Your character determines how you value, treat and build trust with others.

What is the difference between personality and character?

While character and personality are both used to describe someone’s behaviors, the two examine different aspects of that individual. One’s personality is more visible, while one’s character is revealed over time, through varying situations. Character, on the other hand, takes longer to discern but is easier to change.

What are the 6 pillars of character?

The Six Pillars of Character®. 1 Trustworthiness. Be honest • Don’t deceive, cheat, or steal • Be reliable — do what you say you’ll do • Have the courage to do the right thing • Build 2 Respect. 3 Responsibility. 4 Fairness. 5 Caring.

What is character counts?

CHARACTER COUNTS! is housed at The Robert D. and Billie Ray Center at Drake University in Des Moines, Iowa. As a global initiative that transforms lives and strengthens communities, CHARACTER COUNTS! supports our mission to improve civility through character development and ethical leadership.

How do you show respect to other people?

Treat others with respect; follow the Golden Rule • Be tolerant and accepting of differences • Use good manners, not bad language • Be considerate of the feelings of others • Don’t threaten, hit or hurt anyone • Deal peacefully with anger, insults, and disagreements Do what you are supposed to do • Plan ahead • Persevere: keep on trying!