What is the rating scale for cataracts?

These cataracts can be graded on a scale of trace to 4+, with trace being only a slight, faint yellowish discoloration and 4+ being a brown coloration to the cataract. Grade 1+ is a pale, pastel yellow, and grade 2+ is a brighter, vivid yellow. Grade 3+ is a very deep, dark yellow discoloration to the lens.

What is 8s cataract?

Cataracts are the clouding of the lens of your eye, which is normally clear. Most cataracts develop slowly over time, causing symptoms such as blurry vision. Cataracts can be surgically removed through an outpatient procedure that restores vision in nearly everyone.

What level of cataract needs surgery?

Cataract surgery is considered “medically necessary” by some insurance companies (like Medicare) only when certain conditions are met. The service is often covered only after a cataract has caused visual acuity to be reduced to below 20/40 — the legal vision requirement for driving in most states.

How many stages of cataracts are there?

Cataract Progression Rate: 4 Stages of Cataract Development [Infographic]

What is Stage 4 cataract?

Stage 4: The Moderate Cataract There may be white spokes radiating from the sides (cortical cataract). Spots can collect on the posterior surface of the lens (posterior subcapsular cataract). All cataracts cause blur, glare, and loss of contrast.

Does cataract surgery give you 20 20 vision?

While there is no guarantee that cataract surgery will give you 20/20 vision, with new advances in technology your chances are quite high. Schedule an appointment with your eye doctor to discuss the benefits of cataract surgery, and determine which type of IOL is right for you.

Can you have 20 20 vision cataracts?

After cataract surgery, patients notice that their vision is clearer, and they have a renewed sense of independence to perform activities like driving at night. Some people can enjoy 20/20 vision again, and others even find that they don’t need glasses anymore.

How fast does cataract progress?

Most age-related cataracts can progress gradually over a period of years. It is not possible to predict exactly how fast cataracts will develop in any given person. Some cataracts, especially in younger people and people with diabetes, may progress rapidly over a short time.

What is a Grade 3 cataract?

Cataract type: Grade 1: Grade 2: Grade 3: Grade 4: Nuclear: Mild: Moderate: Pronounced: Severe: Cortical (by degree of intrapupillary space obscured) 10%: 10%-50%: 50%-90% > 90%: Posterior subcapsular (by degree of posterior capsule obscured) 3% : 30%: 50% >50%

What is the grading system for Nuclear cataracts?

Grading cataracts. Nuclear cataracts are graded according to their color and opacification using slit lamp examination. Cortical and posterior subcapsular cataracts are graded instead using retroillumination to evaluate the degree to which the intrapupillary space or posterior capsule are obscured. Many types of grading systems have been used

How are cataracts classified by the lens opacities?

Cataracts can be classified by using the lens opacities classification system LOCS III. In this system, cataracts are classified based on type as nuclear, cortical, or posterior. The cataracts are further classified based on severity on a scale from 1 to 5. The LOCS III system is highly reproducible.

What is the best way to grade an early NS cataract?

Best graded with slit beam at 30 to 45 degree angle to the cataract. In an early cataract, you will see that the central nucleus is actually more clear than the anterior and posterior embryonic layers of the lens: Best graded while visualizing with retroillumination. It may be difficult to retroilluminate if there is a concurrent NS cataract.