What are the Christian Articles of Faith?

Articles of Faith

  • The Scriptures. We believe the Bible, composed of the Old and the New Testaments, is the Word of God, a divine, supernatural revelation.
  • The Godhead. We believe in one Triune God, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit (I Pet.
  • The Nature, Person, and Work of Christ.
  • Man, the Fall, and Salvation.

What is the purpose of the Articles of Faith?

The Articles of Faith were written under inspiration from God and are evidence of the divine calling of the Prophet Joseph Smith. They contain direct and simple statements of a number of doctrines and principles of our religion, expressing some of the differences between our beliefs and the beliefs of others.

How did the 13 Articles of Faith come about?

Joseph Smith wrote the articles in response to a request from John Wentworth of the Chicago Democrat. In this letter, Joseph wrote a list of statements about what members of the Church believed. These 13 statements outline basic points of belief of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Why did Joseph Smith write the 13 Articles of Faith?

Joseph Smith wrote the Articles of Faith to help people who are not members of the Church understand how The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is different from other churches.

What are the 13 Articles of Faith?

The Thirteen Articles of Faith We believe that the first principles and ordinances of the Gospel are: first, Faith in the Lord Jesus Christ; second, Repentance; third, Baptism by immersion for the remission of sins; fourth, Laying on of hands for the gift of the Holy Ghost.

Who wrote the 13 Articles of Faith LDS?

Prophet Joseph Smith
Written in 1842 by the Prophet Joseph Smith, these 13 statements explain the basic doctrines and practices of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Why are the 13 Articles of Faith important?

Thirteen Articles of Faith, also called Thirteen Principles, a summary of the basic tenets of Judaism as perceived by the 12th-century Jewish philosopher Moses Maimonides. Maimonides’ formulation was an attempt to put forth true concepts of God and faith as a tool in avoiding error.

How many Articles of Faith are there in Christianity?

In summary, the Ten Articles asserted: The Bible and the three ecumenical creeds are the basis and summary of true Christian faith. Baptism imparts remission of sins and regeneration and is necessary for salvation, even in the case of infants.

What does the admonition of Paul mean?

We believe in being honest, true, chaste, benevolent, virtuous, and in doing good to all men; indeed, we may say that we follow the admonition of Paul [—] “[W]e believe all things[,] we hope all things,” we have endured many things[,] and hope to be able to endure all things.

What are the 13 fundamental principles?

While discussing the claim that all Israel has a share in the world to come, Maimonides lists 13 principles that he considers binding on every Jew: the existence of God, the absolute unity of God, the incorporeality of God, the eternity of God, that God alone is to be worshipped, that God communicates to prophets, that …

Where are the 13 principles of faith found?

The thirteen principles of faith are included in every Jewish prayer book, and are recited as a liturgical hymn at the conclusion of a Friday or Festival service.

What are the 13 LDS Articles of faith?

LDS 13 Articles of Faith. 2 We believe that men will be punished for their own sins, and not for Adam’s transgression. 3 We believe that through the Atonement of Christ, all mankind may be saved, by obedience to the laws and ordinances of the Gospel. 4 We believe that the first principles and ordinances of the Gospel are: first,…

What do we believe Article 12 of 13?

What We Believe Article 12 of 13: Baptism and the Lord’s Supper 12. Baptism and the Lord’s Supper: We believe that baptism and the Lord’s Supper are ordained by the Lord Jesus Himself. The former is connected with entrance into the new covenant community, the latter with ongoing covenant renewal.

What are the seven articles of faith?

There are seven Articles of Faith in Islam. These basic beliefs shape the Islamic way of life. There is One God, Supreme and Eternal, Creator and Provider, Who is Merciful and Compassionate. God has neither father nor mother, and no sons or daughters. God has never fathered anyone, nor was He fathered. God has no equals.

What are the Sikh articles of faith?

Five Articles of Faith. Sikhs have five articles of faith natively known as Kakaars or Five K’s. The articles include Kesh (uncut hair), Kanga (comb), Kara (Bracelet), Kirpan (sword) and Kachehra (a special type of shorts). A baptized Sikh is to wear all five articles of faith.